Hot Topics / RCCE Update

May Hot Topic: Life Transitions

It’s hard to believe that a year has already passed since I took on the job of RCCE. When I look back, this year seems to  be a blur (and my whole college career at that rate). It seems like just yesterday I was a freshman in the dorms, worrying about classes like physics and calculus…wondering if Chemical Engineering was the right major for me. To this day, I’m still not really sure, but a comment that I heard during one of the Region G sessions sums it up perfectly, “Engineering might not be where you end up…but it’s a great place to start.”

And it’s true! I know many students that started out as engineering majors, then switched to pharmacy or biochemistry…even parks and tourism. Hey, it’s not a major for everyone, but the little time in engineering helped them gain that “engineering mindset,” even if only for a semester. Even though they might have been teased for dropping out, they sure weren’t too far behind (I know one guy that switched to pharmacy late in the game, and it still graduating on time with his undergrad). Beyond that, when you look at jobs, the possibilities are endless. Just because you have an engineering degree, that does not mean you have to have an engineering job or career. Even though I ultimately took a process engineering position at BP, I had offers for consulting with Deloitte, technical sales with Eaton, etc. Despite the fact I’m in process engineering now, I would ultimately like to get into management, consulting, or maybe even become an elementary school science teacher. The possibilities are truly endless with an engineering degree.

Although my college career didn’t proceed in the typical “Animal House” fashion with mounds of partying and drinking (and the late nights were the results of cramming), I am happy knowing that in roughly 24 hours, I will no longer be an engineering student…I will be an engineer. And I am excited to see where this will lead me.

conf 13

Distillery tour at the Region G Conference
(Me-Left, Sara Swanson (WVU Treasurer)-Right)

Leave a Reply

