Uncategorized

Get to Know Your Region Leaders: RCCE Edition

a1

Name:
Ruth Williams (that’s me in the purple above with an astronaut)
School:
West Virginia University
Major:
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Year:
Junior
What is your current SWE position and what do you do?
I am the Regional Collegiate Communications Editor, or RCCE. My main job is the blog, keeping it updated, sharing best practices, and letting everyone know what’s going on in the region. I take minutes during region meetings and am an alternate to vote if one of the RCRs can’t.
Involvement with SWE (years, positions, etc):
I have been involved with SWE since the beginning of my freshmen year. I have been the webmaster and treasurer of my section.
Favorite outreach event(s) you’ve done with SWE:
My favorite outreach event is Girl Scout Day, which is WVU SWE’s largest outreach event. We bring hundreds of girl scouts, their parents, and troop leaders to campus and have a day full of engineering activities. We have different activities for each of the age groups, and the girls can get a badge or a patch.
Favorite thing about SWE:
It’s a great network of like-minded people! I also enjoy the outreach events we do. It’s really cool when kids go from not knowing what an engineer is to wanting to be one.
What do you like to do outside of SWE?
I’m a band geek! I play trombone for the “Pride of West Virginia” Mountaineer Marching Band. Between SWE and marching band, I’ve been able to travel all over the country. I also like to read, go to baseball games, run, knit hats, play Risk, throw boomerangs, and cheer on the Mountaineers!

 

One thought on “Get to Know Your Region Leaders: RCCE Edition

Leave a Reply

