Uncategorized

Get to Know Your Region Leaders: RCR Edition

rcr1

Name:
Brooke Sroczynski
School:
University of Dayton
Major:
Civil and Environmental Engineering with an Engineering Management Minor
Year:
4th out of 5 years (Co-op problems!)

What is your current SWE position and what do you do?

I am currently co-RCR (Regional Colligate Representative) for Region G.  I am part of the Region Colligate Team to help provide resources for the schools in the Region G area!  We are also in charge of making sure that all schools in the area are in good standing and have the resources to be in good standing.  All sections turn in reports to us and we have to turn these around to our governor.  This helps to see what sections need help and to recognize the sections that are doing really amazing things!

Involvement with SWE (years, positions, etc.):

I have been involved in SWE since I was a freshman.  My second year I was the secretary for our section then my third year I was the president at UD.

Favorite thing about SWE:

I love SWE because I love the support group as well as the opportunities it provides me.  I have met so many great friends through SWE that understand being an engineering major as well as having similar taste as me.  The opportunities SWE has provided me is pretty much endless.  Some of the opportunities include: Leadership skills, public speaking skills, management skills, volunteering, social time, professional networking, and so much more!

Favorite outreach event(s) you’ve done with SWE:
My favorite outreach program with SWE is definitely Techfest.  This is an event hosted by a community college in downtown Dayton.  The Women in Engineering program and SWE always get a booth to make “Fizzie Balls”.  They can take these home and put them in their bathtub for some fun color and smell.  The kids always have a blast and they get to learn a little about chemistry at the same time!

What do you like to do outside of SWE?

If football isn’t on my TV on Sundays, then something is majorly wrong with me!  I also love working out and doing yoga.  I love rooting on my UD flyers in all different sporting events.  I also love my family with all my heart and enjoy talking to them almost every day and going home occasionally to see them.  I like to talk a lot too so hanging out with friends is one of my favorite things to do.

 

rcr2

 

Name:
Lindsey Montanari
School:
The University of Akron
Major:
Biomedical and Mechanical Engineering
Year:
Senior (5th year)

What is your current SWE position and what do you do?

I am one of two of the Regional Collegiate Representatives. As co-RCR, I help bridge the gap between regional business and collegiate sections. We support the collegiate presidents by answering their questions and providing guidance.

Involvement with SWE (years, positions, etc.):

Since freshman year, I have been involved with SWE. I was Social Chairman freshman year, Regional Collegiate Communications Editor sophomore year, Treasurer junior year, and RCR this year.

Favorite thing about SWE:

Meeting new people and keeping up with friends from other schools. Plus many opportunities such as scholarships and jobs. It is nice to know that there are other engineering women out there besides the small population in your classes!

What do you like to do outside of SWE?

I love to “play outside” like archery, canoeing, nature walks, and shooting my homemade potato cannon! I also love to keep busy by making wine and beer and building random projects like a boat.

Leave a Reply

