Uncategorized

Getting to Know Your Region Leaders: Secretary Edition

Image

Name:  Miranda Wantland

Company and position: Design Engineer at GE Appliances

What is your current SWE position and what do you do?  I am currently the Region G secretary. This involves keeping notes for our meetings and organizing the region files. I also served as one of the co-chairs for the Region G awards.

Involvement with SWE (years, positions, etc):    I’ve been involved in SWE for about 10 years now. I’ve served at the local level (President, Treasurer, etc), the regional level (Secretary, Awards chair), and the national level (Scholarship Committee Chair)

Favorite outreach event(s) you have done with SWE:   Spent the day with Girl Scouts in eastern Kentucky. Both the girls and the parents were so grateful we went – what a difference I know we made.

Favorite thing about SWE:  I’ve made some incredible friends and contacts. I get to spend time with an amazing group of women and feel a part of something bigger.

Any advice for an aspiring engineer?   Find something you enjoy doing!

What do you like to do outside of SWE?   I enjoy spending time with my husband and my 11-month old son, sewing, scrapbooking, reading and running.

Leave a Reply

